Create New Jersey

So, I just returned home from a fun, art filled weekend at Create in New Jersey.  In case you have never heard of Create, it is a mixed-media art retreat that is hosted by Cloth Paper Scissors.  They have several other retreats at other locations, such as Chicago, IL, Dallas, TX and Seattle, WA.  For more information on the retreat, check out this link: http://www.createmixedmediaretreat.com/ehome/index.php?eventid=75796&

I took three classes with the amazing Julie Fei-Fan Balzer.  If you want to check out her website, you can find it at:

http://balzerdesigns.typepad.com/balzer_designs/

On Friday, we created a stenciled art journal by using ink, paint and stencils.  After we painted and inked all of our pages, some of us traded pages with other classmates before binding the pages together to make our very own journals.  Then we learned how to add more paint and ink to transform two completely different pages into one cohesive spread.  It was a great class!

Me and Julie Fei-Fan Balzer

On Saturday, we learned how to make an interesting and pleasing face, not a “pretty” face in Julie’s Explore Faces class.  If you have ever taken any of Julie’s classes, you will know that she is not about making things “pretty” but about making them “interesting.”  It was great to see all of the different styles of faces that were created in class, even though we were all given the same instructions.  And I have to say, this is my favorite class that I have taken to date!

Faces class w/ Julie

The fun weekend wrapped up with Julie’s Authentic Stencils class on Sunday.  This was a very interesting class that guides you through making your very own stencils.  This includes finding things to make into stencils, such as magazine clippings, to actually designing and cutting your own stencils.  I can’t wait to create my own stencils to use in my artwork to truly make it my own.

Julie Fei-Fan Balzer journal demo

Julie Fei-Fan Balzer journal demo

If anyone were considering taking classes from Julie, I would tell them, “What are you waiting for?!?!?”  She has great techniques and tricks that she passes along through her classes, and she is very charismatic.  I’m so glad that I was able to learn from her.

I also have to give a shout out to my husband who actually drove me 9+ hours to go to the retreat.  Thanks babe, you’re the best!!!

Leave a comment